Junior Awards | May 2023

High School Spotlight
May 25, 2023

The following Juniors were recognized for their achievements at the Junior Awards Ceremony on May 24, 2023.

Boy's State

Eliot Fugate
Henry Korener

Girl's State

Amen Fesseha

Governor's School - Humanities

Amelia Freund

Governor's School - Visual Arts

Hera Kim

Governor's School - World Languages


Fiona Lockard


Yusra Ahmed
Gabriel Ghafoorian


Salwa Seikh

President's Volunteer Service Award

Gold: 250+ hours in a 12 month period

Jasleen Kaur
Yeenun Jeong
Gelila Solomon
Gracie Lewandowski

Silver: 175-249 hours in a 12 month period

Kylie Caley
Yusra Ahmed
Amen Fesseha

Bronze: 100-174 hours in a 12 month period

Amelia Freund
Casey Hassan

Department Awards

Excellence in Business

Yusra Ahmed

Excellence in Information Technology

Nonso Utomi

Excellence in English

Hera Kim

The Matthew R. Connolly Memorial Award in English

Jacquelyn Fowler

Excellence in Journalism

Devon Rudolph

Excellence in Yearbook

Miranda Wise

Excellence in Health and Physical Education

Ashlyn Edwards

Excellence in Marketing

Natasha Lennon

Excellence in Mathematics

Natasha Groves

Excellence in Music - Band

Jack Bird

Excellence in Music - Chorus

Emmanuella Kimuli

Excellence in Music - Guitar

Colin Ford

Excellence in Music - Orchestra

Kyle Ryu

Excellence in Science

Kasey Petrie

Patrick H. McGuire Award for Excellence in Social Studies

Amelia Freund

Excellence in Theatre Arts - Performance Based Theatre

Anna Woods

Excellence in Theatre Arts - Technical Theatre

John O'Dea

Excellence in Visual Arts

Hera Kim

Excellence in World Languages - English as a Second Language

Mayte Naranjo Castro

Excellence in World Languages - French

Natasha Groves

Excellence in World Languages - German

Summer Herbig

Excellence in World Languages - Latin

Joseph Yeager

Excellence in World Languages - Spanish

Devon Rudolph

Outside Awards

DAR Outstanding Work in American History Medal

Thomas Glotfelty

DAR Youth Citizenship Medal

Kylie Caley

The Rensselaer Medal

Owen Corley

Harvard Prize Book Award

Ava Kelley

St. Michael's Book Award

Yusra Ahmed

William and Mary Leadership Award

Salwa Sheikh

FCPS Grow Your Own Program

Ash Brooks
Ashlyn Edwards
Kristin Balbuena Cardenas
Anja Trimner

Assorted photos from the awards ceremony: